MuddyFingersMeg

Eat, drink, (garden, knit, quilt, think, fix, read) & be merry

The Who & the Why

on February 3, 2009

Call me a slave to the five-paragraph essay with an introduction, conclusion, and topic sentences, but it doesn’t seem right to dive right in without a proper explanation as to why I’m here.

Actually, writing this very thing is why I’ve hesitated for so long starting this up.  There doesn’t seem a way to introduce myself without seeming cheesy.  But the truth is I love what happens when I blog.  Sure, comments are fun and traffic is exciting, but mostly I leave a record when I blog and it’s a lot of fun to look back and see where I’ve been.  I want to leave footprints, both for myself and for anyone else who might find them helpful.  I’m at a place in my life that feels very transitory – choosing my directions through a series of crossroads.  I’m recently married to a thoughtful man who shall be known as P.  I lost my father not even three weeks ago and he was a creative force in my life.  I’m a crafter and a cooker and a lover of nature in no small part because of him.  P and I are looking for a house at the same time we’re contemplating some big travel plans.  I’m going back to school this fall after a six-year hiatus that was spent working and traveling, learning and exploring, hurting and healing.  After a tumultuous childhood, an unsteady adolescence, and a undirected but very creative early adulthood, I feel some of my bones finally solidifying and someday I want to be able to see where I was and why I made some of the crucial decisions I’m making right now.  I also want to see myself and how I grow as a crafter and in my culinary curiosities.  

No matter how hard I’ve tried, I’m not a journaler.  I’m a baby of the computer era and I find writing out a journal tedious and inefficient.  Just typing up Word documents with journalistic thoughts feel incomplete.  So I find myself again posting my thoughts and projects to the rests of the world.  So, Hello there.  My name is Meg.

Leave a Reply

