MuddyFingersMeg

Eat, drink, (garden, knit, quilt, think, fix, read) & be merry

Raindrops on Roses and Whiskers on Kittens…

on March 1, 2009

It’s high time for a pick-me-up around here…

When the dog bites,

When the bee stings, 

When I’m feeling sad,

I simply remember my favorite things,

and then I don’t feel so bad….

_________________________________________


Seed Starting SetupThe seed starting table that P so graciously set up in our dining room this past weekend while I was away cramming my head with valuable knowledge and my belly with delicious cheese curds at the MOSES Conference.  The wood has been re-purposed so many times I can’t remember it’s original form (well, besides a tree).  We bought one light and found the other abandoned at P’s old apartment.  Last year we grew the most beautiful starts.  I hope this year is equally, if not more, successful.  

I just put in the last of my seed order and have lots of awesome seeds headed my way, along with slews of seed potatoes, sweet potato slips, asparagus crowns, and garlic for the fall.  

Carrot CakeThe Carrot Cake that I made a week ago and decorated with my new decorating kit.  I brought it into work at 9am and it was completely gone by 10am.  I think it’s rather beautiful, but must remember that cream cheese frosting tastes better in copious amounts.

 

AlpacaA skittish alpaca that I briefly laid hands on during national “Visit an Alpaca Farm Day”  last fall.  They’re so damn funny-looking that I can’t help but be happy when thinking of them.

 

Cheshire Cat at the Saint Paul Winter Carnival Ice Sculpture ContestPart of the “Alice in Wonderland” set at the 2009 Saint Paul Winter Carnival Ice Sculpture Contest.  I had an obsession with the Cheshire Cat as a child, so this was a delight for me.

 

Kitchen at New House Hopeful #3The Awesome Kitchen at the house we offered on last week.  It’s a foreclosure, so the process might be a little slow and unpredictable.  But we’re trying to keep our dreams in check while still keeping the hopes up.  It’s a beautiful house.

 

EagleI just found this picture on a memory card.  It’s taken late last fall, when Phil and I were driving back from visiting mi papa.  As it turned out, it was the last time we’d see my dad alive and well.  He was doing great that weekend and we had the best time.  We saw this eagle sitting by the side of the road and it was so close.  I insisted we turn around so we could get a better look.  It sat around while I got my camera out and then made a majestic exit.  I swear, I could feel the wind from his power wings.  

 

Jen and MeaganLast but surely not least, me and my friend at her beautiful wedding last weekend.  We were caught in a blizzard driving down and got stuck hours from the city where the wedding was held.  We pulled into the church parking lot fifteen minutes before the ceremony started.  Perfect!

One response to “Raindrops on Roses and Whiskers on Kittens…

  1. Minke says:

    Oh, that is a gorgeous kitchen. With a window over the sink, which important, IMHO. So lovely to read your words again – very nice job.

Leave a Reply

