MuddyFingersMeg

Eat, drink, (garden, knit, quilt, think, fix, read) & be merry

Waiting/Off and Running

on March 10, 2009

A few bullet points:

– Still waiting on the house.  Our realtor encourages us to “trust the process.”  There is a second offer on the house now, but she still feels good that our offer is fair and reasonable.  I love it (or at least my memory of it) a little more each day.  It’s so hard to wait.  On the flip side, we’re only saving more cash while time passes.  Silver lining, silver lining….

– The first of the seeds have been planted.  I feel a little neurotic planting this early, on a day it snows, but it’s only eight weeks until the average last frost, so I’m not too crazy, am I?  The broccoli, kales, chard, onions, leeks, peppers, and herbs have all been nestled into damp, sterile soil.  I resisted planting a flat of lettuce just to eat, although I was sorely tempted.  I love tapping the small, dark seeds from their packets and tucking them away.  I imagine how big and ungainly they’ll be in only a few short weeks.  It’s only a few months till those deceptively tame little beads crawl mightly all over ground and trellis, bursting forth with all kinds of delicious eatables and fragrant flowers.  Still waiting for their turn under the lights are six varieties of tomatoes, a few flowers, sunberries, tomatillos, three varieties of squash, and cukes.  Yummy!

– I’ve been missing mi papa a lot lately.  

– Tonight P, my personal travel agent, booked me tickets to Seattle and then home from Alaska next month.  I’ll be driving up to Fairbanks with a good friend of mine who is moving north.  Here’s to hoping it’ll be a good time, not just a long, boring drive.  I feel a bit guilty going on vacation while leaving P behind.  Especially because he did the dirty work of canceling the beloved Nica trip while we sat in the hospital in January.  This is one of the hard parts about being partnered with someone – especially someone who loves to travel as much as I do.  He’s been very good about our abrupt switch to saving mode while we’ve been house hunting.  Now I’m asking him to let me go on vacation while he continues to work.  He’s very kind about it all, but I feel so ambivalent about it all.  I’m glad I did much travelling while I was the only one in charge of my finances.  

– I’ve starting knitting socks from Cat Bordhi’s book, “New Pathways for Sock Knitters.”  What a genius book!  I loaned it from the library ages ago, but never knit anything from it as it seemed so hard and foreign to me.  I can make out the instructions now and it’s the most brillant re-thinking since the sock itself was invented.  I’ve stayed up hours past my bedtime a few nights in a row, just trying to get around the next bend in the pattern.

Leave a Reply

