MuddyFingersMeg

Eat, drink, (garden, knit, quilt, think, fix, read) & be merry

Getting in the Swing

on May 31, 2009

I’m still figuring out this blog thing, figuring out what I want to share here, how it’s to be done.  Getting in the habit of taking pictures and posting them.  Considering most of what I wanted was to enter into the crafting/gardening/sustainable&creative living circles, I’m now taking a few more steps in that general direction.  Here is a little taste of what we’ve been up to lately:

First Spinach harvest 2009

It’s not even June 1st and we’re starting to eat more than little nibbles from the garden.  Here is our first spinach harvest.  

Baby Bok Choi Harvest 2009

Baby Bok Choi.  We had terrible germination rates, but it was free seed.  We did pull out this lovely little harvest which will be stir-fried up with some ginger and tofu.  Notice the flea beatle damage on the leaves.  Now the dino kale is less than three feet from these, and it’s still perfect.  This stuff might make an excellent trap crop to keep the little buggers from chewing my favorite kale to pieces.

Baby Shower Gift 2009

On the crafty side, I’ve all but given up knitting for the summer.  The easy baby booties that I started for a shower months ago… never got done.  In the meantime I sewed up this puzzle ball and elephant from Last Minute Patchwork + Quilted Gifts.   So sweet and pretty easy.  The puzzle ball is per specifications, but I embroidered the eyes on the elephant instead of sewing on felt.  I didn’t have any felt on hand and these can’t fall off.  

Elephant 2009

P said he wants one for himself, and I kind of do, too.

2 responses to “Getting in the Swing

  1. rosieroyalty says:

    Wow! I love the puzzle ball and elephant! Great job. I should try this for my neice…
    Rosie

  2. Katrina says:

    Elephant! He is too cute for words!

Leave a Reply

