MuddyFingersMeg

Eat, drink, (garden, knit, quilt, think, fix, read) & be merry

A Peak into the Garden

on June 17, 2009

It’s been a cold June.  And a cold May.  All following a very. cold. winter.  But, looking on the bright side, we haven’t had a frost since early-mid April.  Thus the garden is plugging right along.  I cut a huge gash in the tip of my right-hand pointer finger, so I’m going to minimize the jibber-jabber and get to the photos.

Poppies

I love being a part of a community garden.  This is one of the reasons why.  I don’t grow these, but I can still enjoy them.  I love poppies, bright orange ones in particular.  For a few short days in June a whole bank of them bloom right in front of me while I’m on my hands and knees pulling the millions of germinating elm seedlings.

Roses

And these beauties grow on the path to the water bucket.  We water by hand, hauling two gallons at a time back to our plot.  I use probably sixteen gallons each time I water, thus I get to pass these an awful lot.  Aren’t they pretty?  

Garlic Scapes

I spy the first garlic scape of the season!  Those whimsical, silly delights!  This is my first year growing garlic and I’ve really enjoyed it.  I thought about those bulky cloves tucked deep in earth and hay all winter long.  And, despite all my worries otherwise, nearly all of them poked new shoots into the chilly spring air long before it was time to plant anything else.  Watching them come up was glorious.  And now we get to eat the scapes.  I feel so lucky sometimes.

Mustard

Excuse the poor photo, but I had to talk a little about these.  P and I have been making our own mustard for over a year now.  It’s so easy, dirt cheap, and delicious.  I thought I’d take it a step further and try to grow our own mustard seed.  Not knowing what to expect, I scattered the seed from the bulk section of the coop on the freshly tilled earth early this spring.  It grew slow at first, and then took off like a rocket.  It’s over four feet tall – towering over everything in the community garden.  The blooms are bright and cheery and it’s been a siren call to all the pollinators in the neighborhood.  This little patch is always, always full of lady beetles, honey bees, and bumble bees.  The mustard has grown so large it’s shading out a few of my peppers and a good section of herbs, but I’m leaving it for now.  Even if I don’t harvest a single seed, I will surely grow it again for it’s power to pull in the beneficial insects.

Purple Sage

The purple sage.  (I’m trying to keep the jibber-jabber to a minimum, remember?)  

Dino Kale

Dino kale how I love thee.  We have this stuff growing so fast we can hardly eat it all.  And we love kale.  Growing greens is one of my favorite things.  Easy, nearly pest-free, and very economical.

Potato Beetles

The potato beetles are in full force this year.  I’ve been squashing them by the dozen.  Surprisingly, most of them are living…. on our tomatillo plant!  Fortunately, those plants are far less leafy than the potatoes, so the bugs are easier to spot – and smoosh.

Purple Potato Flowers

The purple potato plants are flowering.  I cannot believe how big the potato plants are this year.  Nearly three times as tall as the squat plants of last summer.  Hopefully that means a big harvest, too.  

Garden Plot #2

Garden Plot #2.  Looking past all the weeds, it’s quite a lovely space.  See how the mustard really livens up the place?  Oh, summer, how I love thee.

One response to “A Peak into the Garden

  1. Katrina says:

    I absolutely love those first two pictures! Poppies always look so friendly and like they came out of a fairytale. You’d never believe that they made Dorothy and her friends fall asleep…um…sorry. What were we talking about?

Leave a Reply

