MuddyFingersMeg

Eat, drink, (garden, knit, quilt, think, fix, read) & be merry

A little cooking, a little crafting

on September 4, 2009

Stuffed Pimentos

I’ve never had much luck growing peppers.  Sometimes the plants get all green and lush but don’t flower and fruit.  Sometimes the plants have been stunted and produced fruit they couldn’t support.  Other times the plants have grown and fruited, but we’ve lost the crop to blossom-end-rot or raging squirrels.  And if none of those things happened, it’s because I got a nice plant, even a pepper, but since there were only one or two I thought them so precious and in need of the “perfect” recipe they sat in the crisper until they rotted.  

Not this year!  We grew three varieties and they’ve all done nicely.  But these beauties, these sweet little pimentos have done splendidly.  We’ve brought home a lot of them, mostly in twos or maybe threes.  But last week we got a glut and decided to do this:

 

Grilled Stuffed Pimentos

Is your mouth watering?  It should be.  We stuffed the inch-and-a-half high peppers with four kinds of feta cheese, chopped kalamata olives, fresh oregano and thyme and then grilled them.  Believe it or not, they were even better re-heated four days later.  I hope to plant twice as many plants next year and artificially induce a glut all summer long, just so we can make these over and over again.

Spiral Blanket

And this, this semi-ugly 100% wool yarn I bought at a going-out-of-business sale a few years ago, is finally finding it’s project.  It was cheap and I bought a boatload of it.  I’ve never liked how it knitted up but it’s pure wool and it’s taking up a lot of space in my yarn bin so I’ve been trying every project I can think of to get rid of it.  I’ve knitted a sweater – a whole sweater! – and then pulled it out.  I’ve knitted mason jar cozies with it.  I’ve started four or five different blankets that I’ve pulled out for one reason or another.  But this, this is it!  This lovely spiral pattern (Ravery link: Ten Stitch Twist) is perfect.  I’m loving the pattern, I love not having more than ten stitches on my needle, and I love that I can make it as big as I want without figuring out all the dimensions ahead of time.  I can just knit until it’s big enough – or I run out of the bloody yarn – and then bind it off and call it quits.  Bonus – it will take a long freaking time.  I love big projects that don’t require much thought.  Knitting bliss.

One response to “A little cooking, a little crafting

  1. […] January 9, 2010 Filed under: Uncategorized — Meg @ 11:07 AM Remember this? […]

Leave a Reply

