MuddyFingersMeg

Eat, drink, (garden, knit, quilt, think, fix, read) & be merry

Pickled Jalapenos – A Tutorial

on October 12, 2009

Despite the snow, the preserving season is still going.  I put up the final 7 quarts of tomatoes last night.Canner bound tomatoes

We picked apples this past weekend.  I see dried apples, apple pie filling, and applesauce in our future.  A few quarts of green beans were blanched and frozen last night.   And I’ll likely still freeze some broccoli, kale, and collards although the deep freeze is getting awfully full.

But I wanted to share a tutorial for pickling jalapenos.  These little gems requires little preserving skill or equipment.  The whole process takes less than ten minutes.  And they’re delicious.  I puree them in winter soups, pop them on nachos or pizzas, or use them to add some kick to tomato sauces.  One quart will easily last theses heat-lovers a year.

Jalapenos

Get your hands on some jalapenos.  I picked these up at the farmer’s market for around $3.  Aren’t they beautiful?  Last year I made it with all-green ones.  Doesn’t make a difference.

Wash them, PUT ON SOME GLOVES, and get to slicing.  Discarding the tops and ends, put the sliced rings into a clean mason jar – quart or pint.  I’m guessing about 12-15 fit in my quart jar.  About half way through, take the jar to the sink and shake it upside down with your gloved hand over the top.  Eventually the seeds will shake out.  This helps reduce the heat.  Leave them all in if you’re brave enough.

Continue filling the jar.  When there is about 3/4″ of an inch left, pack the jalapenos in and pour in distilled white vinegar to cover.  Shake and store.  I keep my in the fridge, where they easily last a year.  Enjoy!

Pickled jalapenos

ps.  I use a plastic cap as the metal ones corrode from the acidity.  I also don’t use mine for at least a few weeks – they need time to marinate and mellow.

Leave a Reply

