MuddyFingersMeg

Eat, drink, (garden, knit, quilt, think, fix, read) & be merry

Mmmmm, Soap!

on January 6, 2010

After learning that cocoa butter can cause soap to harden quickly, I decided to cut the soap after only 18 hours.  The fact that I was uber impatient eager had nothing to do with it.  I swear.

Yes, yes they’re a little wonky, but I like them that way.

In India I had purchased some wooden stamps.  I tried them on paper after I came home and they didn’t really work.  I was disappointed, but kept them anyway.  I think I found what they were destined for.

It’s a blend of coconut, red palm (that is the source of the beautiful color!), olive, and castor oil with a little cocoa butter.  I had hard time finding a recipe I liked, with ingredients I had, in a batch size I wanted to do.  After some helpful insight on a soapmaker’s forum, I made my own.  I hope it’s nice to use.  I won’t know for a while, since it takes six weeks to cure.  Patience is hard.

Who says homemaking isn’t glamorous?

This how I felt last night before I opened the lye.  Nice image to leave you with, huh?

2 responses to “Mmmmm, Soap!

  1. bmiad says:

    I am so going to check behind your ears in six weeks! 😉

  2. Katrina says:

    I love it! The soap looks like it came out great. I can’t wait for the 6 weeks to be up either…

Leave a Reply

