MuddyFingersMeg

Eat, drink, (garden, knit, quilt, think, fix, read) & be merry

Garden Beginnings 2010

on February 14, 2010

The first seed order is in. Seed potatoes are reserved, so are sets for sweet potatoes, and a boatload of asparagus crowns.

I picked up a packet of seeds for California poppies since they’re one of my very favorite flowers.

I’ve got a special place picked out for these – growing right in the front over a retaining wall.  I think they’ll be delightful.

I’ve picked out a number of drought-resistant prairie plants to live on the boulevard where conditions are rather harsh.  These plants will help to build the soils, attract beneficial insects, and make the walk and view more pleasant for our neighbors.  I’m grateful to live in a city that encourages residents to plant public spaces.

little bluestem

butterfly weed

downy sunflower

purple prairie clover

cupplant

Since we had our tree cut down, I’ve been gathering information to cultivate edible mushrooms on the logs.  I’ll be putting in an oyster, shittake, and wine-cap spawn order from here.

Finally, we’ve learned we can tap the Norway Maple and Boxelder in our yard.  We’re now on the lookout for a propane burner to boil down the sap when we “sugar” next month.  It’ll be a bit of an investment, but we’ve wanted one anyway for whole-grain brewing and outdoor canning.

I’ll just say it’s hard to get any homework done when there is so much planning to do!  Oh well.  To the accounting homework…

4 responses to “Garden Beginnings 2010

  1. Beautiful choices! I love poppies. They are so pretty from the time they sprout to full bloom.

  2. Katrina says:

    I love those poppies! Absolutely stunning!

  3. Catalina says:

    O wow! I’ve always wanted to seed a stump with mushrooms – can’t wait to see how it turns out. And also the sugaring, sounds like fun!

  4. Meg says:

    mallorymurray – thanks! I can’t wait to find more poppies to plant.

    katrina – i do, too. I’ve been envying them in other people’s yards for years.

    catalina – I’ll keep updated with info on the mushrooms. I’m not sure what to expect.

Leave a Reply

