MuddyFingersMeg

Eat, drink, (garden, knit, quilt, think, fix, read) & be merry

Coooooookies!

on March 19, 2010

I may be known to buy one-way plane tickets to far ends of the earth, but I’ll confess, I’m not a real adventurous cookie eater.  I love good chocolate chip cookies, decorated sugar cookies around the holidays (frosting, not icing, please).  Spritz sometimes.  And peanut butter chocolate blossoms.  But I picked up a cookie making book from the library.  Holy New World of Cookies!  Whoa.  I ventured out on a limb.  And I’d like to introduce you to my new favorite cookie – the Chocolate Crackle.

They’re lovely, impressive, and delicious. They’re sweet and crispy on the outside but creamy, rich, chewy and chocolatey on the inside.  And the best part – the batch made more than 70 cookies – enough to keep some, enough to share some, and then some!

8 oz bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped

1 1/4 C all purpose flour

1/2 unsweetened cocoa powder

2 t baking powder

1/4 t coarse salt

1 stick softened butter

1 1/2 C packed brown sugar

2 large eggs

1 t vanilla extract

1/3 C whole milk

1 C each powdered sugar and granulated sugar for coating

Melt chocolate in a double boiler, stirring the entire time.  Don’t let it sit on the heat any longer than necessary.  Set aside to cool.

Sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt

In another bowl, cream together butter and brown sugar until pale and fluffy – 2-3 minutes with an electric mixer.  Mix in eggs and vanilla, and then the melted chocolate.  Beat well.  Reduce speed to low; mix in flour in two batches alternating with the milk.

Divide dough into four equal pieces, wrap each in plastic and refrigerate until firm, at least 2 hours.

Preheat oven to 350F.  Pinch off pieces of dough and roll them into 1″ balls.  Roll the balls in granulated sugar to coat (I used vanilla sugar, but any granulated sugar will work just fine) and finally roll in powdered sugar to coat.  Place on lined cookie sheet (with parchment paper or silpat) 2″ apart.

Bake 14 minutes, rotating halfway through (at 7 minutes).  Remove from oven and let cool a minute or two before removing to a rack to cool.

Yes, they’re a little picky to make – all that rolling and dipping.  But they’re so worth it.  Don’t make the balls much bigger than an inch – it sounds small, but they spread slightly when baking and make the cutest cookies.  Besides, then you can have two and not feel the slightest bit of guilt.  Enjoy!

7 responses to “Coooooookies!

  1. Katrina says:

    You know, I’ve been seeing these bad boys all over the place. I do a search for choclate, and up come these. Cookies? Yup, these cookies again. Do you think someone is trying to tell me that I should be making these cookies? Your’s definitely look the tastiest though. Good job on being adventurous!

  2. Meg says:

    Yes, you should most surely make them… and soon! But here’s the trick – make them Thursday night before a weekend with a series of events and potlucks. We had one such weekend last weekend and I brought a dozen everywhere I went! They were gratefully received and I didn’t have 70 cookies sitting around haunting me.

  3. Katrina says:

    So I wanted to run an idea by you on a really funny birthday cake for my husband (which of course isn’t until September so I have way too long to wait). Question first. Do you happen to know how well a cake will bake in a glass Pyrex bowl? I’m nervous to try and just wondered if you had ever done that before.

  4. Meg says:

    Hmmm, that’s a good question. I haven’t tried it, but most Pyrex is oven safe isn’t it? If it says “oven safe” I’d probably try it, but I’d do it on a cheap box mix first. That way if the bowl broke, I’d only be out the bowl and not any expensive chocolate or anything. I guess I’d put a baking sheet under it too, ha!

    Also you could try heating the bowl in the oven as it preheats so it heats slowly and is less likely to crack. You could mix the batter in a different bowl and just pull out the pyrex bowl from the oven to add the batter.

    I am so curious! What are you up to??

  5. Katrina says:

    See, I knew there was a reason I thought to ask you! I never would have thought about preheating the bowl. I had already planned on doing a cake mix for the practice run so I’m good there.

    Anyway, the plan is to make a hobbit hole. My hubs was born on the same day as both Bilbo and Frodo (yeah, we’re nerds). Every year he never fails to mention that he shares his birthday with the two hobbits. So I plan on making the hill and piping a bunch of green grass all over it and using fondant to make the door and windows. I’m hoping to make a little Bilbo and Gandalf out of the fondant too, but I’m not that good at sculpting and have never used fondant.

    Anyway, that’s my nerdiness quotient for the year filled up.

  6. Megs says:

    I LOVE IT! You will totally have to take pictures and post them. Freaking awesome. I can’t wait to see it!

  7. Katrina says:

    You know I will! I’m hoping that in the next couple of weekends I’ll be able to get some practice done on the fondant. I want it to look perfect after all.

Leave a Reply

