MuddyFingersMeg

Eat, drink, (garden, knit, quilt, think, fix, read) & be merry

Native Perennials

on May 10, 2010

I should be thinking about finals, but I am thinking about almost anything else – vacation, the garden, crafting…

Here is one thing I’ve been thinking about a lot:

Roots.  To most people, that probably sounds even less interesting than the finals I should be studying for.  But I find it fascinating.  Especially because I planted some prairie plants and other perennials last year that have come back, but, from the surface, sure aren’t doing much.  I like to think of all the activity under the soil as those roots move up to 15′ feet deep.  15′!  I wonder what they’re finding under there and marveling at how those roots will help them survive harsh winters and find resources in summer droughts.  So cool.

Now, for comparison, the thick line on the far left is kentucky bluegrass, a common lawn grass.  The roots don’t even go a half foot.  No wonder it needs so much TLC to get through each year.

One response to “Native Perennials

  1. Katrina says:

    I’d rather think about roots than finals anytime. I remember those stress filled days of trying to remember if everything got turned in, how many more pages of this research paper still needed, and if there was enough rum left in that bottle stashed under my bed to get me good and hammered after I was done. Good luck, and I’ll let you know how the cake project goes after this weekend. I did successfully bake something int he pyrex last night, so I don’t think it’s going to give me too many problems, but I will be pulling out the fire extinguisher just in case anything explodes.

Leave a Reply

