MuddyFingersMeg

Eat, drink, (garden, knit, quilt, think, fix, read) & be merry

Grapes?

on May 20, 2010

Waaaay back in February, I went to the midwest organics conference and brought back all kinds of goodies – knowledge, connections, seeds, grafted apples, and grape scions.

I was told they’d root by themselves, no rootstocks needed.  So I put them in a Forsythe Pot

and waited.  And waited.  And then assumed they were dead.

Grape wood looks dead generally.  It’s dry and brittle.  I snapped off a small end of one and it didn’t look like it could possibly pull through.  So I had resigned myself to throwing them out when I did the next house plant purge.

Imagine my surprise this week when I was dusting one day and spotted this!  I screamed so loud P thought something horrible had happened.  Three of the four still look… dead.  But one Bluebell variety (northern table grape) has sprouted.  Yee haw!

It’s hardening off now and will move into the apple cage that currently houses a dead apple.  This year we have hopes of building a nice grape trellis and, assuming it thrives, the Bluebell will get transplanted next year.  Grapes are slow growers and it will be years until this 1′ stick amounts to much, but it’s sure fun to watch.

2 responses to “Grapes?

  1. Katrina says:

    That is beyond exciting! Yay for grapes!

Leave a Reply

