MuddyFingersMeg

Eat, drink, (garden, knit, quilt, think, fix, read) & be merry

Prizes

on October 18, 2010

I love numbers.  Have I ever told you that?  I love how neat and tidy they are, how much information they contain, how answers involving them are right or wrong.  They’re sturdy, comforting, and really fun to play with.  I’m also a synesthestic.  In my world, the letter “G” is orange and makes me want to retch.  (Oddly, orange is my favorite color ).  Numbers are often blue and the best number is 10.  I love 10.  My birthday is on the 10th, October is the 10th month (and it’s the best month), and I was (intentionally) married on the 20th, a multiple of 10.  10 is whole and complete.  So waaaay back in January I realized this year was going to contain the date 10-10-10 and it was instantly decided, we had to have a party.

We sent out invitations, bought a keg, and cleaned the house.  Last Sunday many of our friends and family showed up with pots of chili and warm skillets of cornbread.  We built a fire, roasted s’mores, and had ourselves a merry time.

We offered prizes for the “best” of a few categories.  What to provide for prizes?  Well, we’re mere weeks away from a Minnesota winter, so I decided to make hats.  Soft, warm, 100% merino wool hats.  I spent the better part of two weeks knitting these up, worrying the entire time people wouldn’t want handknit hats.  I shouldn’t’ve worried.  They were a huge hit!  And now I think I need to make some more for P and I.

Uncharacteristically, I even blocked them and made tags for them.

If you’re interested in knitting your own, they all are free patterns.  Hat #1 is (Ravelry Links) Jesse’s Christmas Hat, Hat #2 is Regular Guy Beanie, and Hat #3 is Lotus Hat.  Go!  Go knit yourself some soft, wooly warmness!

Leave a Reply

