MuddyFingersMeg

Eat, drink, (garden, knit, quilt, think, fix, read) & be merry

On a kick

on November 5, 2010

Next year I’ll be 30.  I guess I should clarify.  At the very end of next year I’ll turn 30.   Although P seems nervous about his own impending decade-change (we were born 4 months apart), I’m ready.  Come on, 30, bring it on!

I am starting to feel like I need to grow up a little bit.  I keep saying things like, “Since I’m almost 30 I need…. x, y, or z.”  This summer I insisted it was time to get some black sandals with heels.  After weeks of searching I found some at the thrift store.  I wore them to the farmer’s market one Saturday morning and could barely walk back to the car.  I nursed several large, painful blisters for a few days and ultimately decided fashion shoes aren’t for me.  I’m back to the predictable and practical: hiking boots and Chaco’s.

My new kick is jewelry.  I’ve never, ever been a jewelry person.  Well, maybe once, when I was 9 and insisted on getting my ears pierced.  But I’ve hardly worn earrings since.  I only wear adornments on very special ocassions when I can break out the wedding pearls.  But lately, since I’m almost 30, I’ve decided it’s time to pick up a few pairs of earrings and a nice necklace.  I’ve shopped around for a few months and ultimately decided on these adorable finds from FreshyFig on Etsy:

So maybe the turtles are a little juvenile, but I couldn’t help it.  The other two, I hope, will add a touch of class to my otherwise haphazard style.

I’ve dropped a not-so-subtle birthday hint to P for these cute cloud hoops from maryandjane:

And then I hope that will be the end of my  jewelry kick.  This is an expensive habit!

Leave a Reply

