MuddyFingersMeg

Eat, drink, (garden, knit, quilt, think, fix, read) & be merry

Gettin’ Crafty

on March 7, 2011

My wrists have still been sore, but putting in a few stitches here and there is paying off.  I’ll show you what I’ve been up to.  But first – seed starting season is in full swing and I’d like to present, for your winter viewing pleasure, the onion, leek, and shallot forest:

Ok, so onto the wooly and silky things.

I finished P’s new socks just in time for his solo vacation to Portland*.  He wore them out of the house for the two-day train trip.  It made me so proud.

Please forgive the poor photos.  It was night and he was leaving, so we had to make due.

I needed a good conference knit (easy, small, with stash yarn) and this Oriental Lily (ravelry link) fit the bill perfect.  I made the six month size with Knit Picks Swish Superwash Wool.  It’s adorable!  Apparently I had two dye lots on hand so the collar is a different dark pink than the rest.  Oh well.

Forgive me.  I don’t normally dress the cat.  But it’s been a long winter.  The dress was finished blocking, she was sleeping, and the next thing you know…

A few weeks ago P and I went to Michigan to pick up a car we bought on ebay (a story for another post!).  While there, we visited with two of my college roommates.  One just had a baby and one is expecting so, of course, I had to make something.  Time was short, so they each got hats.

It’s a simple newborn hat (ravelry link).  The purple is made according to the pattern.  I modified the blue one for a 3-month size and replaced the lace with a simple seed stitch brim.

The silk didn’t knit up as soft as I’d hoped.  But perhaps it will soften up with age?

That’s it for now, friends.  I wish I had more things to show you, but the cutest thing in my life right now is how the cat curls up on my genetics textbook when I’m trying to study.

*While in Portland P visited the Pendleton outlet store and bought me nine pounds of wool dirt-cheap wool remnants, some originally selling for up to $60/yard.  That man knows how to make my heart go pitter-patter.

Leave a Reply

