MuddyFingersMeg

Eat, drink, (garden, knit, quilt, think, fix, read) & be merry

The Flip Side

on April 16, 2011

Lest you think that all that goes on around here is sorrowful introspection, let’s take a peak at all the other stuff that gets done in a day.  Spring is in full swing with buds breaking on the lilacs, the hardy kiwi, the blueberries, the hazelnuts, the peach (the PEACH!), and just about everything else.  The perennials are poking up, the bulbs are blooming and the seedlings are splitting their time between the kitchen floor and the deck.  I had them under lights but now they spend the bulk of their time outdoors.

These are the artichokes!  I’m growing them from seed as an experiment this year.  They need a vernalization period of 250 hours between freezing and 50F to flower.  So they’re getting shuffled around a lot, but I’m hoping it all pays off come August!

The potatoes are chitting, waiting for the soil to warm so they can be cut and planted.

Last year I grew endive and stored the roots in the fridge over the winter.  Now I’m forcing them in darkness (a plastic bag in my closet) in an attempt to get endive hearts.  The roots have colonized the tupperware and above ground small shoots are emerging.  I’m doubtful the roots have enough stored carbohydrates to create decent hearts, but you never know.  At least now I know how to do it and I’ll do it again this year (and will hopefully get bigger roots!)

Continuing with the garden theme (it is spring, after all, even if it snowed this morning), I sowed 50 square feet of hard red spring wheat in our yard this year.  I have no idea if it’ll work, but I love little experiments.  Wouldn’t it be great to bake some bread with my homegrown wheat?!

I’ve nearly finished (just needs buttons and final finishing) a baby surprise jacket (Ravelry link) in 100% silk.  It’s for some friends who are having a baby in August.  There are so many babies due in August this year I needed to get a jump-start on the knitting.

At the beginning of the year I started a cable sampler blanket (Ravelry link).  I’m just over 1/5th done.  This is likely to be a two year project.  Lately, though, I’ve been pondering the appropriateness of making a cable sampler blanket at this point in my life.  Many different twisting cables weave into individual block which will be sewn together into a warm, coherent whole.  It’s mirroring what’s happening in my life.  Each stitch, each moment, each mistake, each frustration, each victory is part of the bigger picture.  It’s a big project but I’ll finish it.  I’ll finish both of them.

One response to “The Flip Side

  1. […] also been working on an EZ sweater for P and a that cabled blanket that is going to take years to finish.  Oh, I heart good summer craft time.   Leave […]

Leave a Reply

