MuddyFingersMeg

Eat, drink, (garden, knit, quilt, think, fix, read) & be merry

Relief

on May 12, 2011

Finals are over.  I still have a directed study that needs to be finished by the end of May, but the bulk of the pressure is off.  I am so relieved.  This has been such a rocky semester.  Many of the classes were ones I had been putting off (read = not very exciting).  I got eyeball deep in a bunch of extra circulars, including a big research project.  Farm season started.  I had a lot of soul-searching to do as well as thinking about the future.  And, to add fury to the fire – there was the therapy which has been so incredibly difficult. 

I cooked eggs yesterday and realized that’s the first time I’ve cooked in at least two months.  P has been getting us by, cooking up big meals on Sundays and sometimes during the week.  Otherwise it’s been takeout, tortilla chips, and popcorn.  I wish I were kidding.

I’m taking today for myself.  Too bad it’s rainy because I was hoping for some quality time in the garden.  I have ~150 plants on the deck awaiting soil, including a number of large shrubs and trees.  I’m not sure where they’re going, exactly, but they were “good deals”, orphans or just pretty and so they sit.  Tomorrow P and I head down to a state park for our annual morel hunting trip.  P found a few delicious handfuls the other day so they’re out!  We just need to go and find more.

Thanks, friends, for sticking with me over the past several weeks.  I know it’s been ugly around here but your listening and encouragement have been invaluable to me.  Today I feel like the worst is behind me.  That may not be true, I don’t know, but I’m going to believe it for now because that sure feels good.

One response to “Relief

  1. Jennifer says:

    I was at the grocery store yesterday and thought of you, remembering how awful finals week can be, but also how fantastic it feels when they’re finally over. Hope the relief lingers awhile!

Leave a Reply

