MuddyFingersMeg

Eat, drink, (garden, knit, quilt, think, fix, read) & be merry

Finding Room For Beauty

on July 6, 2011

When I planted my first community garden plot several years ago, the garden organizer suggested I plant flowers, too.  I couldn’t imagine planting flowers – what a waste of space.  If I couldn’t eat it, I wasn’t interested.

This year I planted my veggie garden with all the usuals – potatoes, tomatoes, peppers, carrots, beets… But I spent most of my early spring gardening busting sod for new beds of… flowers.

In went daisies and coneflower, cosmos and lobelia, oenothera and columbine.  I planted sedum and lamb’s ears, two varieties of baby’s breath, lupine, delphinum, and foxglove.  I started violas, bachelor’s buttons, and calendula from seed in my precious, limited seed starting space.  And that’s just the tip of the proverbial iceberg.

They’re beautiful and I love watching them bloom.  Previously I couldn’t imagine taking garden space from plants with physical purpose, plants that help me survive.  Beauty was a luxury I didn’t dare afford.

But this year’s obsession with flowers has visually demonstrated a major shift in my thinking.  Beauty, comfort, and enjoyment are important, and I can make room for them in my life.  It’s not just the flowers, but a way of thinking that embraces intangible benefits.  It’s the willingness to feed my soul instead of just my body.  It’s an acknowledgement that I don’t need to simply survive…

…I can thrive.

Leave a Reply

