MuddyFingersMeg

Eat, drink, (garden, knit, quilt, think, fix, read) & be merry

Bucketlist, revisited

on February 15, 2012

I’ve been thinking about my bucketlist lately.  I went back and looked it over and I was (happily) shocked to realize it’s been almost three years since I wrote that post and in that intervening time, I’ve been steadily making progress on each of those items.   A few I can (nearly) check off completely.

I was especially delighted because  I’ve added two items to my list and there is now room to put them without feeling completely overwhelmed.

– Take a botanical illustration class.  I am beyond thrilled because a quick google search reveled a wonderful botanical art school mere miles from my house!  I don’t have much historical precedent as an artist.  In fact, I withdrew from Drawing I my first time through college because I arrived near the end of the semester and hadn’t done most of the work (so unlike me!).  But I find botanical illustrations so lovely and so I’m going to give it another try.  Besides, I think drawing plants is much less intimidating than human subjects.  Plants won’t be offended if their complexion looks drab or I’ve given then a ridiculous nose or an additional thirty pounds.

– Take a class on scientific writing for children.  I’ve long held a pipe dream of writing children’s books.  I recently had a conversation with a professor who writes scientific literature for children in her “spare time.”   Doesn’t that sound like fun?  I want to write accessible books on subjects like honeybees, basic guides to mechanical systems (like bicycles), and I’d love to attempt a series of Dr. Seu*ss style  books that make the terminology of chemistry and biology funny and memorable.  Although I recognize it’s a difficult profession to break into, I’d like to give it a whirl and see what happens.  You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take, right?

I can’t wait to try these new endevours!  But first I must work on what’s on my to-do list tonight which includes a paper and studying for a lab midterm.  Ciao!

Leave a Reply

