MuddyFingersMeg

Eat, drink, (garden, knit, quilt, think, fix, read) & be merry

A few flowers for a Friday

on July 20, 2012

 

Have I ever told you how much I love balloon flowers?  Oh, I just love their whimsy, their little airtight buds that suddenly pop open into a cheery flower.  And now I’ve found balloon flowers with double flowers.  See how the outer bud as opened but the inner bud is still sealed?  Oh, I just love it.

With their striking veins and luminescent color, I can picture many more of these in my garden.

And here’s the single flower, for comparison (and to savor their fleeting summer sweetness).

My hollyhocks were gorgeous this year. Until the Japanese beetles arrived.  Heavens, they’ve demolished the buds and blooms.  I dig dozens out every night but more keep coming to chew my poor hollyhocks ragged.

And I love these little guys.  I call them a double baby’s breath, but I’m not sure that’ what they are.  I love them regardless.

I’ve never been one to get very excited about day lilies but these have really caught my eye this year.  A friend’s mom gave them to me several years ago and I just adore the gentle color gradients and the strap-like twisty petals.

I do love a garden in bloom.

One response to “A few flowers for a Friday

  1. Tracie says:

    I have never seen a balloon flower – they are gorgeous and pretty awesome.

    Thank you for sharing your flowers. They were like a breath of fresh air in my crazy day. I needed that.

Leave a Reply

