MuddyFingersMeg

Eat, drink, (garden, knit, quilt, think, fix, read) & be merry

2012 in partial review.

on December 26, 2012

DSCN0958

Blueberry picking in July.  Life doesn’t get much better.

DSCN1129

I shook hands with Bill Ny*e!

DSCN1146

I gave up growing carrots because of root knot nematodes (which result in carrots like those above)

DSCN1147

But then I accidentally grew these.  Aren’t they gorgeous?

DSCN0667

We went to Red*wood National Park.  This fulfilled a childhood dream.  Amazing.

DSCN0882

It was the Year of the Fruit in my garden.  70+ lbs of strawberries, rivers of raspberries, and even some blueberries (but those ones at the top were picked at a PYO farm)

DSCN1033

Diablo cosmos stole the garden show this year.  The bees loved them, as did I.

DSCN0962

A childhood friend got married and had a potluck reception.  I adore potluck receptions.  YUMMY.  I made this lovely fruit salad with heart-shaped watermelon slices and edible flowers from my garden.

DSC_0239

I finally graduated from college!

DSCN1018

I did this at a county fair.  No regrets.

DSCN0904

I learned how to make bath bombs.  And bath salts (not the scary kind).  And body butter.  It’s been a good year in the homemade cosmetics department.

DSCN0877

My soybeans nodulated beautifully.  Lots o’ nitrogen fixing going on in those bumps (a non-nitrogen fixing plant shown for comparison above).

IMAG0058

The garden.

DSCN1185

Sorry for the crummy photo.  It’s dark.  Anyway, I’ve been experimenting with various terrariums.  They’re much more aesthetically appealing in real life.  Promise.

SDSCN0974

I ruthlessly battled japanese beetles.  They loved my roses, and demolished the flowers before the buds even opened.  Sigh.

IMAG0283

Ellie and I did a lot of knitting.  And she developed some very expensive health problems (entirely unrelated to the knitting).  Fortunately, they seem to be under control and the medication itself is very affordable.

IMAG0397

We did a great deal of cooking, baking, and eating.  These cuties are homemade ice cream sandwiches made to commemorate P’s 31st birthday.  One is chocolate basil and the other is coffee chocolate.  SO GOOD.

Raptor Release

Raptor Release

We attended a raptor release this fall.  Several hawks, two bald eagles, a peregrine falcon and other rehabilitated birds were released to the skies.  A very moving event.

We also remodeled our bathroom, I started grad school, and we traveled to Mexico and the Redwoods.  But this is a start.  Cheers, friends!  I hope to be back several more times before school resumes in early January.

3 responses to “2012 in partial review.

  1. A most wonderful year (and life!!) Indeed! Congratulations are in order on your graduation AND for that gorgeous heart shaped watermelon salad.

  2. Verónica says:

    What a great year, well except for those icky beetles. Loved this post.

  3. kate1975 says:

    Wonderful photos and activities. Thanks so much for sharing it all. I so wanna eat some of that watermelon, one of my favorite foods. Congratulations on your two college achievements.

    Kate

Leave a Reply

