MuddyFingersMeg

Eat, drink, (garden, knit, quilt, think, fix, read) & be merry

Workshops

on August 29, 2013

Opening week is winding down.  Frankly, I’m exhausted and a little overwhelmed.  Honestly, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

School starts next Tuesday.  I don’t feel ready, but I do feel ready enough.  Only heavens knows how, but I’ve managed to surround myself with kind, supportive, helpful, funny, wonderful people.  While some things aren’t ideal – I’d like a little more freedom and a little less “floating” (I move classrooms every. single. hour.), – many things are more than I could ever have hoped for.  

Tomorrow I try to wrap up dozens of loose ends.  While I have (almost) always appreciated my teachers, I never appreciated just how much goes into teaching.  I must have a dozen new internet logins of various sorts, equipment and textbooks in FOUR classrooms to manage,  a new program to implement, and several new committee responsibilities to muddle through.  But it’s okay.  I see wonderful, talented, balanced, healthy, happy people doing it all around me.  I’m going to be okay.  Some moments I feel like I’ve made a huge mistake but other moments – like the first time I saw my photo class rosters – I feel awed and touched that I have such a special place in the world.  One quote I heard in grad school resonates in my heart, “As teachers, the future of the world passes through our hands.”  Indeed.

So humbled, overwhelmed, exhausted, awed, worried, happy, satisfied, and curious I’m leaning into the chaos and embracing both the known and unknown.  Wish me luck, friends.  This little birdie is taking flight.

Leave a Reply

