MuddyFingersMeg

Eat, drink, (garden, knit, quilt, think, fix, read) & be merry

Cupcakes!

on May 8, 2010

It’s the baker in me.  Most of the time I stick to breads, but every once in a while I let my inner confection-creator loose.  I can’t do it very often because I enjoy eating the goodies almost as much as I love making them.

I’ve been perusing the fun, whimsical cupcake books by Karen Tack and Alan Richardson as of late.  I eventually decided to make a knock-off version of the sunflower cupcakes.  They didn’t come out like sunflowers, but they were still pretty.

And delicious.  Oh boy, were they good.  Here is the recipe for their homemade chocolate cupcakes.

Chocolate Cupcakes, makes 16

1 3/4 C all purpose flour

1/4 C unsweetened baking powder

3/4 t baking soda

3/4 t baking powder

1/2 t salt

12 T unsalted butter, softened

3/4 C lightly packed brown sugar

2 large eggs, room temperature

2 ounces bittersweet chocolate, melted

1 C buttermilk

1 t vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350F.  Line the muffin cups with paper liners.

Whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl.  In another bowl, cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.

Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Beat in the melted chocolate.  Reduce the speed to low and add the flour mixture alternately with the buttermilk in batches, beginning and ending with the flour.  Stir until just blended.  Stir in vanilla.

Spoon the mixture into a quart ziplock bag.  Snip a 1/4″ off one of the bottom corners.  Fill the paper liners 2/3rds full.  (this is one of the most helpful cupcake tips ever.  No mess.  I use old ziplocks that have small holes so I don’t feel so guilty about the waste!).  Bake 15-20 minutes, until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.  Remove and cool completely on a wire rack.

Frost as you see fit.  Enjoy!


4 responses to “Cupcakes!

  1. Katrina says:

    Beautiful cupcakes! And I love those books. I’m too scared to actually try anything out of them though since I’m horrible at decorating cakes.

  2. Meg says:

    Try you must! Might as well. They’re still delicious even if they look funny. Besides, I’ve seen some of your decorating and it’s lovely. 🙂 How’d your cake experiment go? I’ve been wondering.

  3. Meg says:

    Oooh got it, just saw your other comment. ;P

  4. Tipper says:

    Ooh, pretty! I might have to try that recipe for my daughter’s third birthday cupcakes; she has requested chocolate with pink frosting.

Leave a comment